Hebrew Prayer Books

Jewish Learning Fellowship (JLF)

The JLF Program

Purdue Hillel was recently selected as one of Hillel International’s campuses to host the prestigious Jewish Learning Fellowship (JLF). JLF is a 10-week experiential, conversational cohort for students looking to deepen their understanding of Judaism on their own terms. We’re interested in asking big questions. You know, the big stuff — like, Who am I? What communities am I a part of? What is worth committing myself to? And why?

Our inaugural cohort is open to ten students.

 

Upon the full completion of JLF, each student will receive a $300 stipend for participation, will participate in a JLF graduation ceremony, and will have access to Hillel International’s JLF Alumni Network of more than 14,000 graduates of JLF around the world.

Purpose

The purpose of JLF is to help you explore the intersection of your Jewish traditions and your unique college experience in a safe space to find your place, on your terms, in Judaism’s Great Conversation. JLF will meet on Mondays, beginning January 31, for 90 minutes, and will include dinner at each session. We’ll set the exact time once the cohort is selected, closer to the sessions beginning.

Criteria for Participation

These are the criteria for participation:

  • Jewish students currently enrolled full time at Purdue's West Lafayette campus

  • Current sophomores and juniors (fourth-year students not graduating in 2022 may apply)

  • A genuine interest in an authentic and fun experience, an openness and curiosity for asking big questions in the context of community, and sharing a great dinner with awesome people

Timeline

Timeline:

  • Apply Online January 10-16

  • In-person Interviews January 17-21

  • Notifications sent Monday, January 24

  • Cohort 1 Begins Monday, January 31

  • Semester Dates (please be sure to check your calendar, as full participation is required):

    • Monday, January 31

    • Monday, February 7

    • Monday, February 21

    • Monday, February 28

    • Monday, March 7

    • Monday, March 21

    • Monday, March 28

    • Monday, April 4

    • Monday, April 11

    • Monday, April 18

    • TBD Sunday, April 24, JLF Commencement

Hebrew Prayer Books

For more information, reach out to Melissa Frey at melissa@purduehillel.org or call/text 917.309.1587